Press "Enter" to skip to content

Nagaland U-19 women bowled out for 2 runs in one-day game

Spread the News

Nagaland Under-19 Women were bowled out for just two runs in their One Day match against Kerala at the JKC College Ground in Guntur. Kerala chased the total in a solitary ball beating Nepal’s record of winning the match after just balls in their ACC match against Myanmar in 2006.

Nagaland batted for 17 overs but only managed two runs with one of them coming off a wide. Opener Menka was the only player to score a run for Nagaland as nine players finished on a duck and one remained unbeaten on 0. The innings began much like any other as Nagaland got off the mark thanks to a wide and a single from Menka but then they went from 2-0 to being bowled out for 2, in 17 overs.

All 10 wickets fell without a run being scored as the Nagaland batters struggled to get going in Guntur. While Menka finished with an 18-ball single, four other batters faced in excess of 10 balls and still failed to score a single run.

a screenshot of a cell phone

a screenshot of a cell phone

Captain Minnu Mani led from the front as she bowled four maiden overs and finished with four wickets. Sourabhya P finished with two wickets and bowled six maidens while Sandra Suren and Biby Sebastin both finished with a wicket apiece and two maidens.

In reply, Deepika Kaintura bowled a wide to begin the innings before opener Ansu S Raju scored a boundary and finished with more runs than the entire Nagaland side and took her side to a win with 49.5 overs and 10 wickets to spare.

Both sides came into the match having lost their opening three games of the tournament but it was Nagaland who remained winless after an embarrassing defeat. Kerala finally got off the mark in the tournament but still remain fifth in the Super League Group B, now level with Delhi on points but behind on net run-rate.

It was a day of batting collapses in the Women’s Cricket Under 19 One Day League And Knockout tournament as Bihar were bowled out for 21 and Bengal chased the target with nine wickets to spare. Bihar and Nagaland are the only two sides to remain winless in either group.

Source: Sportskeeda

Copyright © 2017